We are closed July 3, 4 and 5 to celebrate what freedom we have left.

10-6 MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY 10-4 SATURDAY

View our privacy policy and terms

WE ARE OPEN! Hours M-F 10am to 6pm Sat 10am to 4pm est. ONLINE 24/7/365

Oakland Tactical Support

Oakland Tactical Support

For Oakland Tactical Support call 810-991-1436 or email [email protected] or [email protected] to reach our customer support team. We are open Monday through Friday 10am to 6PM EST and 10am to 4pm on Saturdays.

Contact us

Shipping and purchasing a firearm online.

  • How do I purchase a firearm online?

    After you purchase your firearm selection, preferably at Oakland Tactical. There are two ways to receive it into your possession.

    If you live in the state of Michigan you can come to our store and fill out the obligatory Federal Form 4473. This will take the firearm off our required books and put it into your ownership. 

    If you are a resident of any other state we will have to ship it to a licensed FFL like us but in you state and hopfully close to you for pick up. You will go to the transferring gun store and fill out the obligatory Federal Form 4473 there. This will take the firearm off their required books and put it into your ownership. 

    To find an FFL dealer near you follow this link. http://fflgundealers.net/

  • Is there a waiting period to purchase a gun in Michigan?

    At this time there is no waiting period on either GCA or Gun Control Act firearms in Michigan. Usually rifles and handguns are approved through the Federal Governments NICS check in 15 minutes or less.

    BUT if you buy a short barrel rifle, silencer or machine gun the Federal Government drags its feet and it takes about 9 to 12 months for approval! How stupid is that? You can buy a handgun in 15 minutes but have to wait a year to put a muffler on it.

  • Are machine guns, silencers, short barrel rifles and shotguns legal in Michigan?

    Absolutely yes. You do have to rub your belly and tap you head at the same time for government approval though.

    No, seriously they are legal to own, but you need to go through a thorough background check and fill out a small stack of paperwork to get them. THEN wait 6-13 months for the FBI and the ATF to approve them. They are so worth the wait though. Its as close to real freedom as our overlords will allow.

    No worry about the paperwork. We do virtually all the paperwork setup, fingerprints and passport photos you need to get the application in process. All you have to do is answer the obligatory questions and sign your name a few times. We do the rest. So you can rest.

  • Are you a Silencer Shop Dealer

    Yes we are, but we do not have the same Kiosk system they use, We do the same thing but in store. You can use their Kiosk at another location and you NFA item shipped here though.

  • Do you have a Kiosk to process NFA items

    No, we have our own in house system that does the digital fingerprints, photo and paperwork.

NFA Questions on Silencers or Suppressors

  • Can I own a full auto machine gun in Michigan?

    Absolutely, but its going to cost you. Machine guns have never been illegal, they have just been highly regulated. Due to the fact that since 1986 it is illegal to manufacture new machine guns for public sale we are limited to samples prior to that date. This makes supply and demand drive up the price. Expect to pay a minimum of $4500.00 for a MAC 10 9mm sub gun, M16s will be around 15K and up. Oh by the way the government will make you wait about 12 months to get one, but well worth the aggravation. 

  • How many states is it legal to own a silencer?

    Silencers are legal in 42 states. 34 of these states as of this writing silencers also know as suppressors, its legal to hunt game animals with them.
     
    AL, AK, AZ, AR, CO, CT, FL, GA, ID, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NM, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY.
     
    For more information go to the American Suppressor Associations website at https://americansuppressorassociation.com/ While you are there if you have it give them a donation, They are fighting every day to make all 50 states legal for suppressor ownership.
  • How do I know what silencer to buy? There are so many choices.

    This is one of our most asked questions. Firstly there are three major classes of suppressors. They are centerfire rifle, centerfire handgun and rimfire supressors. There is also a shotgun suppressor but we don't need to talk about choices because there is only one or two samples. Pistol and rifle sometimes overlap in utility but they are mostly not ideal for general use, but they work. 

    I will try to go about the answer similarly how we do it in the store by commenting and asking questions of their shooting style, type of firearm or firearms that are using them on Etc. First thing most customers are worried about DB reduction. They look at test of all the available silencers and pick the lowest DB. But there are SO many variables that effect noise reduction that people end up comparing apples to oranges.

    Customers may say they need the quietest suppressor for a .308 and choose brand B, but the 308 tested was a 24" barrel bolt action rifle shooting Federal Gold Medal Match ammo. We are not even going to blur the choice with how the test was ran, ambient temp or testing equipment used. Yes that suppressor will test the quietest in that test, But they have a 16" Semi Auto .308 Direct impingement gas gun. Which requires much different considerations.  

What do I need to purchase a Firearm?

  • What do I need in order to complete a rifle purchase in Michigan?

    No purchase license is required to purchase a long gun (a firearm that is more than 26 inches long) in Michigan.

    According to state law, a long gun may be purchased by anyone aged 18 or over who is not subject to restrictions based on criminal history, mental health history, or other disqualifying factor.

    A person must be at least 18 years old to purchase a long gun from a federal dealer or a private seller under Michigan law.

    A valid driver's license with current address is required.

    Residents of another state may purchase rifles and shotguns in this state if they conform to the federal gun control
    act of 1968, Public Law 90-618, and the regulations issued under that act, as administered by the secretary of the treasury, and with the laws of the state in which the purchaser resides.

    Customers are required to fill out a 4473 form to complete purchase. 

     

  • What do I need in order to complete a pistol purchase in Michigan?

    Buyer Must:

    • Be 21 or older to purchase a pistol
    • Be 18 or older to purchase a long gun
    • Reside in Michigan
    • Be eligible to own a firearm

    The Process:

    1. Pick out particular firearm
    2. You will fill out form 4473, provided by us.
    3. The dealer will callNICS hotline and your information will be passed on to the FBI.
    4. FBI will tell the dealer you’re approved or denied
    5. If approved, and the firearm is a pistol, both buyer and seller fill out the form RI-060 Michigan Pistol Registration form
      1. Buyer keeps one copy
      2. Seller keeps one copy
      3. Buyer returns MSP copy to local police department within 10 days of purchase
    6. Buyer pays the dealer and sale is complete

     

Follow @oaklandtactical